more releases => page <1-2-3-4>
out now! trlp/cd-9032:
the kutimangoes - afro-fire

what would it sound like if fela kuti, charles mingus and ornette coleman formed a band in copenhagen? inspired by these artists, the kutimangoes play their very own mix of afrobeat, eclectic jazz, soul and blues.

well established names and new faces have come together to create some music that sounds like nothing else, with a focus on a strong groove and pure, unadultered energy. the 6-piece band counts drums, percussion, saxophones, trombones, keyboards, fender rhodes in a playful mix where the musicians change instruments from song to song.

the vinyl lp is limited to 500 copies and comes with a full album download code.
1. fire
2. feeling good
3. something yellow
4. pass it on
5. song for fela
6. moanin'
7. walking man
8. slowly *
9. desert moon *
10. song for fela (rmx)
11. fire (rmx) *
* cd bonus tracks

various - movements 6

the movements saga started in 2005 by music maven tobias kirmayer. today, he proudly releases the 6th volume of this essential series. though the track listing still contains amazing music you may never hear elsewhere, the series has matured since its first volume. the track selection has become more open minded, compiling ballads and soul-jazz tunes, even proto-disco in addition to the rare funk tramp fans expect. Tracks are selected in chronological order so that the listener may get an impression of the development of the art form from jazz to rhythm and blues to rock & roll to soul and of course - funk.
lucky brown, february 2014

the 16-page cd booklet contains detailed liner notes and many unseen photographs. the deluxe double gatefold vinyl LP contains the same information as the cd-booklet.
1. clarence daniels and obie jessie - hard working girl
2. rudy lambert - love
3. dynamic duke royal - I wanna know
4. the impacts - thunder chicken
arnold albury & the casuals - thanks for waiting
6. ural thomas - pain is the name of your game
7. roy porter sounds - lonesome mood
8. bob french's storyville jazz band - st. james infirmary
9. marie adams & tommy dodson all-stars - that's the way to get along
10. los keys - mister t.c.b.
11. billy young - suffering with a hangover
12. little mell - ain't that funky monkey fonky
13. marvelle & the blue mats - The dance called the motion
14. changes - feel so bad
15. society inc. - disc jockey jam
16. the dell vikings - welfare blues
17. professor lett & study - we oughta get together

more releases => page <1-2-3-4>